Article
· Mar 13, 2018 3m read

Replacing ZEN - Part 1 - Introduction

Index to Articles

Hi All

I am an avid user of ZEN for over 10 years now and it works for me.
But it seems that Intersystems are no longer actively developing it (or ZEN Mojo), the only published reference to this  is here

As an aside, Intersystems makes fine products (I have been using the technology for 35 years) and has great support BUT they are not good at being open with their product road map/retirement plans.  This is very embarrassing  to me when talking with my end user clients.

So I am looking at how to replace ZEN - this is not a short term project, at one client I have over 800 ZEN pages.
And it's such a shame as ZEN works and, most importantly, I and the team know how to make it "sing and dance".

I work in back office business apps so do not need some of the fancy stuff that is the modern web;

• Responsive pages  - nope my users work on PC's only - having the page layout jump around would be confusing  
  • Band width - not a problem -my clients will all have good/excellent connectivity
  • Cross browser/device - not so important - I can design for a subset and insist on that
  • Synchronous XHTTP - Is crucial for me - if a user posts an invoice (say) I want them to see the result and not  be clicking elsewhere
  • Back button, bookmarking and general navigation - don't want this - there is a business process flow that I need to insist on - it makes no sense to me to go back to a display a record that has just been deleted
  • Fancy transitions - not really, my users are in front of a screen most of the day - using these would be tiring on the eyes

Also as a developer I want to have:-

• Longevity of the development environment - I have seen many web development tool kits be the favourite of the month/year only to be discontinued after a short time.